19th Annual Celebration of Skidmore Scholars and Donors an Inspiring Affair

  — See Video Thankyous to Donors Below!

  • On Friday, February 23, in the fabulously renovated Murray-Aikins Dining Hall, Skidmore held its 19th annual celebration of Skidmore scholars and donors. Together with members of the Skidmore community, scholarship donors and recipients came together to celebrate the many accomplishments of our students and to salute our donors for having the vision and commitment to make these achievements possible.

  • This year’s student speaker was Caitlin Woolsey ’07, the 2006 Tisch Family and Senior Parents Scholar and the 2006 recipient of the Whitman Family Prize.

  • Suzanne Corbet Thomas ’62, chair of the Board of Trustees, guided us through the evening’s program which included personal reflections on giving from Steven Knobel ’87.

  • Following a dramatic reading from Alan Lightman’s 1992 novel Einstein’s Dreams, Lauren Skonieczny ’07, the Wallace B. Moore ’74 Theater and Mariel Macklin Talbot Memorial Scholar, shared with the audience how her Skidmore experience has inspired in her a childlike idealism in her ability to make a change in the world.

  • Susan Kress, vice president for Academic Affairs, spoke of Skidmore’s commitment to financial aid: At $23 million, it is the second largest and fastest-growing component of the College’s annual budget. Scholarship support, with a goal of $40 million, is a key element of our $200 million Creative Thought Bold Promise campaign.

  • New this year were videotaped messages from scholarship recipients to a number of donors who were unable to attend. Simply click on the student’s names to watch!

Molly Appel '07
David and Helen Porter Scholarship

Kevin Arkell '07
Miriam & Harold Oberkotter Scholarship

Pamela Busineau '07
Deborah Weil Goldfarb '69 Memorial Scholarship

Emily Carnevale '07
Windhover (Quadracci) Scholarship

Daniel Cronin '09
Carol West Seldin '71 and Peter Seldin PA '08 Annual Fund Scholarship

Jose De La Rosa '07
Carolyn Little Weg '64 Annual Fund Scholarship

Ryan Emmons '08
Miriam & Harold Oberkotter Scholarship

Katherine Fegan '07
McDermott Scholarship

Alexis Hall '07
Zankel Family Scholarship

Allison Keane '07
Steven '72 and Laura Cohen Annual Fund Scholarship

Molly McCumber '08
Tisch Family Scholarship

Antonia Moscarello '07
Scott M. Pinkus Annual Fund Scholarship

Erin Newell '08
Margaret O'Meara Storrs '57 Annual Fund Scholarship

Olivia Owen '08
Tisch Family Scholarship 

Samantha Read '08
Barbara Underhill Collyer '52 Endowed Scholarship

Michael Reining '08
Meg Reitman Jacobs '63 Annual Fund Scholarship

Inga Shalmiyeva '08
Richard & Marjorie Dammann Scholarship

Devin Sugameli '08
Oskar C. Ibru '81 and Wanda Swann Ibru '79 Annual Fund Scholarship

Lillian Torrey '07
Judith and Rudy Giuliani PA '08 Annual Fund Scholarship

Although it was not possible for all of our donors to join us on this special occasion, they were all very much with us in spirit. As always, we are very thankful for their generosity and support of Skidmore.

Skidmore College · 815 North Broadway · Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
© 2006 Skidmore College